When you FALL down, get back up again!

fall

Good evening ladies and gentlemen! Good news…it’s the first day of fall! I wouldn’t say fall is my favorite season- it’s definitely in the top four, though. I love autumn- the colors on the trees, the cool weather- not to mention, we’re that much closer to Halloween and Thanksgiving! (And Christmas, of course. But even I, one of Christmas’ biggest fans, knows it’s too early to talk about THAT particular subject.)

Since this is my first “official” post, I thought I might as well introduce you to the format that I plan to use for all my future posts.

First will be IN BRIEF, in which I’ll mention a couple of stories or facts that I heard about this week that I thought were notable (and good!). I WISH I had time to go through all of them in great detail, but not to worry, if you’re interested in learning more about the stories mentioned in IN BRIEF, I’ll be sure to include links! Next, look for TONIGHT’S FEATURED STORY. As you probably gathered from the title, here I’ll go into greater detail and talk about (what I deem to be) the most important piece of Good News from the week. Finally, for your viewing pleasure, look for VIDEO OF THE WEEK! Using hyper-advanced search technology (aka Google), I will scour the Internet each week and bring you my favorite piece of visual good news, motivation, or just general wonderfulness. Sometimes it might be a picture of the week instead- or both! So, without further ado, lets get started!

IN BRIEF: 

-An American journalist, who has been held hostage by Somali pirates for the past two years, has been freed. Michael Scott Moore was investigating the pirates when he was kidnapped in Somilia’s Mudug region, and local elders negotiated the terms of his release. His family is overjoyed to have him back.

A spacecraft from India has just reached Mars’ atmosphere. This is the first spacecraft from Asia to reach Mars, and the first time a craft has reached Mars on the country’s first attempt. Bravo, India!

-In local news, Kirksville has a brand-new donut shop! Past Walmart near the baseball fields- go and treat yourself!

TONIGHT’S FEATURED STORY!

There are only a few statistical areas in which the United States still leads the world- and not all of them are desirable. One of these is the number of people that we keep in prison. According to statistics, 1 in 35 US adults were in some kind of correctional care in 2012, be it parole, probation, or in jail. US jails are filled to capacity with around 215,000 inmates. Recently, however, the US prison population has begun to fall.

Prison-bars

According to Attorney General Eric Holder, the prison population has dropped by approximately 4,800, and he projects that it will reach a decrease of 10,000 by the end of the year. This marks the first decrease that the US has seen in a number of decades.

Holder, like many before him, has cited the fact that states with high prison populations have actually seen crime go up more often than it goes down. Inmates are often disproportionately black or Latino, and are overwhelmingly young, with most inmates in their early 20s and 30s. The average prisoner in the US only has a 10th grade education.

Is this decrease the start of something better in our country? Is it signalling a decrease in crime overall, perhaps? Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure there are dangerous people out there who should not be out in our society (for the safety of law-abiding citizens). But is it better to lock them up, or to get help for them and not take away such a chunk of their life? Let me know where you stand on this issue by commenting on this post.

Personally, I think any statistic that could signal a decrease in crime is a good statistic. And that’s why this is my pick for this week’s featured story!

 

VIDEO OF THE WEEK:

If you haven’t seen this one yet, you’re in for a treat.

Hope you enjoyed my first post! Be sure to comment and let me know what you thought, and let me know if I missed any stories that you heard about this week.

Remember, when you fall down, get back up again! Happy autumn!

Leave a Reply

